CITY OF WESTMINSTER

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 7.01 pm on Wednesday 11th July, 2018 at Westminster Council House, 97-113 Marylebone Road, London, NW1 5PT.

PRESENT

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Lindsey Hall

COUNCILLORS

Heather Acton David Harvey

lan Adams Elizabeth Hitchcock

Nickie Aiken Adam Hug Barbara Arzymanow Louise Hyams **Timothy Barnes** Aicha Less Geoff Barraclough Pancho Lewis Richard Beddoe Andrea Mann Patricia McAllister Rita Begum David Boothroyd Guthrie McKie Susie Burbridge Tim Mitchell

Ruth Bush Gotz Mohindra Nafsika Butler-Thalassis Eoghain Murphy Melvyn Caplan Matt Noble

Maggie Carman Emily Payne
Danny Chalkley Robert Rigby
Antonia Cox Rachael Robathan

Robert Davis Tim Roca
Lorraine Dean lan Rowley

Tony Devenish Karen Scarborough Richard Elcho Mark Shearer

Richard Elcho
Christabel Flight
Selina Short
Peter Freeman
Andrew Smith
Murad Gassanly
James Spencer
Jonathan Glanz
Paul Swaddle
Jim Glen
Shamim Talukder

Matthew Green Hamza Taouzzale Lindsey Hall Judith Warner Angela Harvey Jacqui Wilkinson

1 NOTICE OF MOTION - HONORARY ALDERMAN: MR BARRIE TAYLOR; MRS BARBARA GRAHAME AND MRS JAN PRENDERGAST

1.1 Motion moved by Councillor Nickie Aiken and seconded by Councillor Adam Hug that the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Mr Barrie Taylor, Mrs Barbara Grahame and Mrs Jan Prendergast.

1.2 Motion put and on a show of hands declared **CARRIED.**

RESOLVED:

- (i) That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on:
 - (a) Mr Barrie Taylor who was first elected as a Westminster City Councillor on 8 May 1986 and who retired in May 2018 served as a Councillor in total for 28 years. He represented the Queen's Park ward from 1986 except for the period from 1990 to 1994. Mr Taylor served on many Committees but mainly in the area of Social Services, where his many years experience working with Community Health Councils came to the fore.
 - (b) Mrs Barbara Grahame served as a member for the Church Street ward from May 1994 until May 2018, a total of 24 years service. Mrs Grahame served for the most part on Committees relating to Education, a subject for which she was deeply passionate.
 - (c) Mrs Jan Prendergast served as a member for the Maida Vale ward from May 1994 until May 2018, a total of 24 years. She was passionate about services for the young and elderly. Mrs Prendergast served as Lord Mayor in 2003-2004.

Over the years they have contributed so much to the work of the Council through their caring personality, wisdom, knowledge and vast experience between them undertaking the various roles of Members of numerous committees. They have served the Council and people of Westminster and in particular their constituents with enormous dedication and the Council is asked to agree that they each be honoured by the conferring of the title of Honorary Alderman.

(ii) That the Council instruct the Chief Executive to make the necessary arrangements for the preparation and presentation of an address to the Honorary Alderman and authorise that the minor necessary expenditure be met from existing budgets.

The Meeting ended at 7.20pm		
CHAIRMAN:	DATE	